Students working


Contact for more information

Eric Nyquist
Open Choice Coordinator   
Karen Barnes
Administrative Assistant

Open Choice at Cooperative Educational Services logo

The Open Choice program was established by legislation in 1997 to reduce racial, ethnic, and economic isolation and improve academic achievement among students. Through the Open Choice program, students living in urban areas have the opportunity to apply to attend school in participating suburban school districts when space is available. 

The application window for OPEN CHOICE is now CLOSED for the 2023-2024 school year.  Thank you to all those who applied.  The window will open for the 2024-2025 school year in January of 2024.  Reminder:  Only families who are being offered spots for next year will be contacted.  If your child is not selected, you will be automatically placed on a waiting list.  We hope to notify accepted families in early June.  If you have any questions, please contact us at 203.365.8857.  Thank you!

Open Choice Informational Video