2020 Teacher of the Year
Carrie Evans (second from left), an educator at Six to Six Magnet School in Bridgeport, is the 2020 Teacher of the Year for Trumbull-based Cooperative Educational Services. Also in the photo are (from left) C.E.S. Associate Executive Director Christopher La Belle, Six to Six Principal Anna Nelmes-Stoughton, and C.E.S. Executive Director Dr. Charles Dumais.
TRUMBULL, Conn. – Carrie Evans, a first-grade teacher at Six to Six Magnet School in Bridgeport, is Cooperative Educational Services’ Teacher of the Year.
Mrs. Evans who started teaching at Six to Six in 2006, is now eligible for the 2020 Connecticut Teacher of the Year Award, which will be announced on Dec. 4 in Hartford.
Mrs. Evans started working at Cooperative Educational Services as an Instructional Aide in the Special Education division in 2005 before moving to Six to Six as an Educational Instructor in 2006. She was also a reading teacher before becoming a classroom teacher for Grades 1 and 2.
The Cromwell resident, who graduated from Masuk High School in Monroe, attended the University of Rhode Island and earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Textile Marketing before earning a Master’s degree in Teaching from Sacred Heart University in Fairfield.
She said her grandmother’s work as an elementary teacher inspired her to become an educator. She also plans to return to school and earn a 6th Year degree in Reading.
“I have had many moments that have touched my heart over the years,” Mrs. Evans said. “It really comes down to all of the relationships I have built with my students, families, and colleagues.”
Past Honorees
Julia Murphy
2021 C.E.S. Teacher of the Year Donna Tomasko
2019 Teacher of the Year Sabine Januski (Six to Six)
2018 Teacher of he Year Christie Cantalupo
2018: Christie Cantalupo (Six to Six)
2017 Teacher of the Year Nick Yacovou (TDP)
2017: Nick Yacovou (TDP)
2016 Teacher of the Year Joe Milositz (Six to Six)
2016: Joe Milositz (Six to Six)
2015 Teacher of the Year Stacey Cronk (PLC)
2015: Stacey Cronk (PLC)
2014 Teacher of the Year Christopher Epstein (TDP)
2014: Christopher Epstein (TDP)
2013 Teacher of the Year Elena Silva (Six to Six)
2013: Elena Silva (Six to Six)
2012 Teacher of the Year Erica Christopher (TDP)
2012: Erica Christopher (TDP)
2011 Teacher of the Year Jodi Lovegrove (RISE)
2011: Jodi Lovegrove (RISE)
2010: Eva Kibby (Six to Six)