Andrea Escobar is 2019 Paraeducator of the Year
2019 Paraeducator of the Year Andrea Escobar
Sabine Januski (center), an educator at Six to Six Magnet School in Bridgeport, is the 2019 Teacher of the Year for Trumbull-based Cooperative Educational Services. At left is CES Executive Director Dr. Charles Dumais and at right is Six to Six Principal Anna Nelmes-Stoughton.
TRUMBULL, Conn.– Andrea Escobar of Six to Six Magnet School in Bridgeport has been named the 2019 Paraeducator of the Year for Cooperative Educational Services. Escobar is an Instructional Aide who started her career at CES in 2015. She was nominated for the award by Six to Six teachers Patricia Barbano-Parczany, Dionne Couture and Sabine Januski.
She is the seventh Paraeducator of the Year for CES and the first from Six to Six, which is one of four school programs operated by CES.
“Andrea can put a positive spin upon on any challenge faced with a student and do her best in the most trying of circumstances with humor and humility,” said Barbano-Parczany, who teaches music. “She thinks outside the box when working with a student and has interesting and inspiring ideas about what will motivate her student.”
Januski, a seventh-grader teacher, praised Escobar for her commitment to students and support for staff. “She treats the students with respect and kindness while also holding them accountable,” Januski said.
“Andrea is conscientious and does everything to the best of her ability. She is not afraid of doing more than she is required to,” said Couture, who teaches science to seventh- and eighth-graders.
This honor makes Escobar eligible for the state Department of Education’s Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year award, which was created to recognize the important role of the paraeducator in supporting student achievement. The award was renamed in 2013 to honor the memory of Murphy, a special education paraeducator who was killed in the 2012 Sandy Hook shooting.
Criteria for the award are outlined by six standards identified from the National Resource Center for Paraprofessionals Model and include assisting teachers with: building and maintaining effective instructional teams, maintaining learner-centered supportive environments, planning and organizing learning experiences, engaging students in learning, instruction, assessing learner needs, progress, and achievement, as well as meeting standards of professional and ethical conduct.
Past Honorees
2021 C.E.S. Paraeducator of the Year Michael Cueto
2017 Paraeducator of the Year Alyson Shopovick (DLC)
2017: Alyson Shopovick (DLC)
2016 Paraeducator of the Year Jamie Toppin (RISE)
2016: Jamie Toppin (RISE)
2015 Paraeducator of the Year Ben Megna (PLC)
2015: Ben Megna (PLC)
2014 Paraeducator of the Year Julius Britt (DLC)
2014: Julius Britt (DLC)
2013 Paraeducator of the Year  Luciana Perelli (PLC)
2013: Luciana Perelli (PLC)